Feeding and Weaning My Baby – A Rant

I’m going to have a mini* rant, and I apologise in advance because it will probably annoy people but I’ve got to get it off my chest.
I feel a bit sad that I don’t feel I can express my pride for breastfeeding without it being perceived as some kind of attack on those who formula feed. I have breastfed my baby for over 7 months now and it has been really frickin hard work at times, but I’ve managed to work through that and I am pleased that I have and that I have managed to meet my baby’s needs with just my body. Please know that my pride in succeeding in this is not a judgment on other people who have not been able to do this.

I feel pressure from some family and friends to stop breastfeeding now. I’m often asked when I’m going to stop (I haven’t planned any of this so I don’t know), and I can tell there is a suggestion in that question, that it should be soon. That if I keep breastfeeding past 6 months that it’s a bit gross, I’m being a hippy, my baby will get too attached. I don’t feel like I hear the question “how long are you going to formula feed” to other mums?  I have also felt pressure on how I should be introducing food. I have felt the stares in my Mummy group as I fed her a purée, with comments such as “she’s probably wondering why you’re feeding her toothpaste”. It was said in jest, but I could tell everyone was horrified that I wasn’t giving her bits of cucumber and rice cake.

Why oh why is our society so passionate and judgemental about how we feed our babies in general?! Why can a Mum not follow her instincts, or do what she has to do due to limited other options, without others smugly commenting?! I honestly don’t care how you feed your baby, as long as you are both happy with it. Why can’t people just be happy to let me and my decisions pass without a judgmental comment?

So…without having to explain my decision or reasoning I tell you this. I breastfeed my 7 month old and I am proud that I have achieved this! I will breastfeed until I so feel that I should stop or my baby decides to stop. I introduced food to my baby in the form of purée initially. I then gave her some finger foods for breakfast when I felt she was ready.  She now eats a mixture of purée and finger foods at almost every meal.  She has water with every meal too.

Dinner Time
Wow, I feel better for that. Perhaps this could be a thread that you just unashamedly share how you feed/dress/carry your baby.

*mini rant is now giant. Sorry again

Published by

Bethany

32-year-old mother, wife, cat owner looking to discover ways to make life easier and happier for all. Life hacks, gadgets, foods and just anything that will benefit the mental health of my unit.

6 thoughts on “Feeding and Weaning My Baby – A Rant”

  1. Great! I actually loved this post by started off thinking ‘here’s another judgemental bf’er’. I was only saying the other day to a friend that its a shame there is a divide between mums who feed differently. I struggled with both my boys due to the shape of there mouths mainly and ties etc. Bf groups were welcomed but when i decided to combination feed i felt i couldn’t return to the group! !! I genuinely believe there are pros and cons to both types of feeding and neither should be judged. And i too had comments whilst i was ebf to go to the bottle but these comments where only given to me because my close friends and family cared. They don’t understand the drive to bf because it wasn’t there when they had us, the majority of us where raised on formula and we r fine. Every child is unique in there own right, how u feed them doesn’t make them who they r, it’s how the environment is around then, your mood and behaviour etc. I agree and think we should simply appreciate eachother as mums and respect we know what’s best for or own x x x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so right, so many other important factors impact on a child’s life. Really, as long as they are getting the nutrition they require that’s all that matters.

      Like

  2. Great! I actually loved this post but i started off thinking ‘here’s another judgemental bf’er’. I was only saying the other day to a friend that its a shame there is a divide between mums who feed differently. I struggled with both my boys due to the shape of there mouths mainly and ties etc. Bf groups were welcoming but when i decided to combination feed i felt i couldn’t return to the group! !! I genuinely believe there are pros and cons to both types of feeding and neither should be judged. And i too had comments whilst i was ebf to go to the bottle but these comments where only given to me because my close friends and family cared. They don’t understand the drive to bf because it wasn’t there when they had us, the majority of us where raised on formula and we r fine. Every child is unique in there own right, how u feed them doesn’t make them who they r, it’s how the environment is around then, your mood and behaviour etc. I agree and think we should simply appreciate eachother as mums and respect we know what’s best for or own x x x

    Like

  3. WOW, thank you for this! I had a very similar experience and I have come across most of the things you mentioned which makes me very sad! I have even been told from my health visitor I was not doing the right thing giving Juliet purees! It just didn’t feel right to start with finger food from 6 months.. She will be 1 next week and I am still breastfeeding and we are both very happy! And to be honest, I don’t even mention it now to other mums as to avoid the akward look…And yes, she will have a mixture of purees and finger food and when she will be ready, she will eat what we eat. Many of the mums I came across are also doing this “sleep training” which means you should never breastfeed or pick up your baby when they wake up at night. Now I believe they don’t just wake up for food, they need comfort and reassurance which they can only find in their mum’s arms. They are probably overwhelmed by all the new things they have seen or mastered. Keep up your amazing posts! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sounds like you are doing what’s best for you and Juliet! Sometimes it’s so hard to do what feels right when so many others seem to be doing something entirely different, you certainly are not alone though, so keep at it! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

